Howdy Folks, I Need Your Help

Sorry, I haven’t been able to post lately. I’ve been extremely busy with various projects and preparing for the upcoming semester which is why I need your help.

I need your help gathering authentic texts for an introductory academic/practical writing course. We will be studying descriptive, narrative, and compare and contrast writing on the academic side. For practical writing, we will be composing emails in various registers and writing letters of intent/request (you could even send me your interesting email exchanges or past cover letters: of course I’d remove/change the names).

I’ve scoured the internet as well as my bookshelves and found quite a bit of good stuff but still need a greater variety. So, if y’all have any good resources that could point me in the right direction, I’d surely appreciate it. An extra bonus for online resources that are easy enough for the students to navigate, so they can choose their own texts to bring to class.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Howdy Folks, I Need Your Help

  1. Do you think postsecret.com has any application here?

  2. mikecorea says:

    Hi! This is probably far too little and far too late but I figured I’d say hello and share anyway.

    There are some (strange) cover letters on this page on my blog:
    http://eltrantsreviewsreflections.wordpress.com/authentic-material-that-may-or-may-not-be-useful-for-class/

    Nice work with your blog. I really wanted to see your presentation at KOTESOL12 but I think I was presenting at that very time.

Leave a Reply

